Here’s to the little victories

I’ve been doing so good with staying on top of my goals and reaching them; I am really proud of myself.

I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions because I consider myself a continual “work in progress.” Regarding diet and exercise, I’ve always practiced moderation, and since becoming a Mom, it was a struggle to try to find a balance (yeah, that myth that one can have it all, yeah-right). So, now I’m making time for myself (once the little guy goes to bed, I’ve got that time to stretch, do yoga or weights, watch TV or read) and so far, it’s going well. I decided to not stress out over things that don’t get done, because, if at the end of the day, I’ve done my best, then, that’s good enough for me. It also helps to have a target list, so I can clear my head some at night; otherwise, I’d drive myself crazy, thinking about all the “what if’s”. “Time management” to me, means cutting out all the unimportant things, and making time for the things that matter to me. Spending time with my son is really important to me; when I went back to work, I felt that guilt, but I made peace with it, because we’re not in that top two percent that doesn’t worry about anything financially.  So, I got over it. 

I’ve been trying to clear out the clutter at home, so I’ve been actively listing things to sell on either ebay.com or listia.com. I’ve consolidated most everything available together, so that might help cut down the searching time when something sells. And the two apps on my cell help me become more efficient at this ongoing project.

On the day-to-day house stuff, it helps to do something everyday. Once it ends up in a huge heap, it becomes a little daunting and, of course, anyone would get overwhelmed. So, yes- dishes check, laundry check, putting things away or where they belong check. And so on and so forth. Repeat. Everyday.  

On the paper junk- articles, magazines, recipes, insurance statements, receipts, bills, etc. (side bar: my husband says I love paper, but I really don’t- I go through my mail every darn day, so at least, that gets handled), I used to actively sort through it every month (pre-baby), but when I’ve got my personal time on the weeknights, that is the last thing that I want to do. So, I consolidated it into one bag, and brought to work. When I was on my lunch break, I tackled it that day. I got rid of everything that I didn’t need any longer. I sorted through the important docs and placed them in categories. I still have to go through some of the categories, but at least, the bulk of it is done. When I was just thinking about going through it, it was a doom & gloom UGH dark-cloud response, so I am just going to tackle it head on, and get it over with, already. 

One thing that I need to work on, is getting to bed earlier, because I really do need more rest. Like I said, though, I am working on it. I’m pretty happy about all the little victories, so just let me bask in the glow, a bit longer.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

