My Review on Lush’s Caca Marron Henna Hair Color- helpful tips included

I have medium length hair, that is color-treated (but I am trying to get away from chemicals) to cover up the greys, and I use tools too. I recently cut my hair shorter to have an easier style. I don’t like having long hair because it’s too much to maintain. 

I was really not sure if I was going to like this product. The first time I used this (months ago), it really was very, very messy & time-consuming (I’m a busy FT working mom). I didn’t like the smell either, the 1st time I used it, but that was with using the boiling method, which I just altered the 2nd time I used it, this past friday night(tip: boil the water, pour into the heat-proof bowl, mix well, and place on the burner which is turned off) to continue mixing together until it gets to a thicker consistency). My hair was super super greasy the 1st time I used it. I read the reviews afterward, and have come up with some of my own tips: (1) shampoo wash with a safe shampoo (nothing that will strip the color), rinse, & then repeat. If it’s still greasy, repeat the process until it isn’t so thick & slick anymore.(2) The next day, if there is any remainder, shampoo again, & rinse. I didn’t have a good experience the very first time. It felt like what I imagine getting stuck in the La Brea Tar Pits would feel like. 

More about my 2nd time: I had a big mess to clean up after the drops fell to the bathroom counters, and floor. But I am glad that I applied some waxelene to my hairline and my ears, because nothing stuck. I used gloves this time. I used a plastic grocery bag to contain my hair and the mess to a minimum. I stood about 3 hours of it, and then I had some left, so I used more for a double application after rinsing. I have greys to cover up. I didn’t leave it (the double) very long because I wasn’t sure how it would end up. But it was fine. My husband said it looked dark, but then noticed the touch of red in the light afterward. My hair feels nice now, conditioned, and feels a little thicker, too.

After reading other people’s reviews, I am going to use a Ziplock bag to apply the color more evenly and thoroughly. I am planning on doing another application in a few weeks. I am also planning on mixing a couple other colors together. I will also use the newspaper spread out on the floor, too. Thanks to all those reviewers who shared their experiences. 

Now, I won’t feel so anxious and dreading the whole experience. I’ll be more prepared my next time.

Leave a Reply

