what can I swap?

The business of swapping online can be daunting to newbies just starting out. I had my doubts about swapping online when I first started out a few years ago. But in the end, it’s been pretty fun and rewarding, provided there were no snags in my dealings.

First, some of the sites have general guidelines, but some swappers find creative ways around those guidelines. For example, http://www.rehashclothes.com has a “no selling” policy. Still, swappers continue to post “money/cash” in the list of “wants in return.” It’s important to consider the site’s rules unless you want to get kicked off the site. It is a free service, after all. (The site http://www.dignswap.com is in it’s Beta phase, but will start charging 99 cents per swap, once there are enough members to do so.)

What can I swap? I’ve found that lots of things are considered valuable. On the site http://www.rehashclothes.com, I’ve got about 100 watches on my items. (The “watch” feature is similar to the e-bay watch feature.) (1) Used makeup, especially high end makeup, like MAC (pricey when you buy it new; lipstick is around $14, eyeshadow is about $13-$17 for a single color). I’m making the switch to Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals, which is also popular. (2) Designer bags are very popular. I’ve subtracted and added to my collection using this vehicle. The most popular brands seem to be: Coach, Dooney & Bourke, Kathy Van Zeeland, Juicy Couture, Louis Vuitton, among others. Even replicas seem to garner interest. (3) Vintage anything seems to be popular. From jewelry, to clothing, to beaded clutches, to handkerchiefs, it does well on the sites. (4) I’m a crafting person so things that I no longer use are up for grabs. Lots of people like my crafting supplies- fabric, pom poms, floral stems, felt scraps, felt pieces, scrap book supplies, and beading supplies. (5) Body care items like body lotions, perfumes, body scrubs, body creams are very popular. I’ve amassed lots of Bath & Body Works items over the years. I’m making the switch to The Body Shop and other organic brands. I still like certain things from BBW, though. I did have to place a limit on those full size items because there’s only so much you can fit into a medium flat-rate box, when you individually wrap each one (to guard against spillage), especially if there are other items to include in the swap (large swaps). (6) Clothing is also very popular. There are a lot of teens swapping, but you can find things in line with your particular style. I’ve seen everything really from vintage, to gothic, to mom-like, to teen styles, to beach, to boho, to trendy, to classic, to exotic, to sexy, (including lingerie sets) and in a variety of sizes too, though the heavily represented size “small” seems to reign. The teens seem to favor Forever 21 and Aeropostale. Victoria’s Secret is generally popular. People really like my swimwear and my dresses. (7) Lots of things or items, sets, or kits, in general also seem to be really popular; I can see why, people want to get the most that they can get, right? Plus people want to clear out their junk too. These are what I’ve found (in my experience over the years) to be the most popular groups of items.

Other things to swap are: jeans, jewelry, bras, halloween costumes, new boxes of feminine hygiene products, men’s care, men’s clothing, candles, magazines, books, music CD’s, exercise dvds, movie dvds, specialty items, kitchen items, art supplies, school supplies, appliances, portable steamers, etc. The list could go on and on. I’ve also seen underwear and lingerie, but I think that swapping used underwear is gross (again, to each his own). If you read the swapper profiles on http://www.rehashclothes.com, you can get an idea, of what is on her wish list; you can also view her watch list, to get a feel for her style or other needs (you could have something that you didn’t list yet, or were about to list). Also, on the same site, sometimes the swapper will ask a question (on the home page), sometimes involving what she wants to get, and you can “answer”- sometimes this generates swap interest.

 

Leave a Reply

